Breaker 1 2 - Breakin'Breaker 1 2 - Breakin' Midori Takada - Through The Looking GlassMidori Takada - Through The Looking Glass Radiohead - A Moon Shaped PoolRadiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool Fugees - The ScoreFugees - The Score Kings Of Tomorrow Featuring April - Fall For You EPKings Of Tomorrow Featuring April - Fall For You EP Neil Young - Harvest MoonNeil Young - Harvest Moon Shimon & Andy C - Body RockShimon & Andy C - Body Rock Neutral Milk Hotel - In The Aeroplane Over The SeaNeutral Milk Hotel - In The Aeroplane Over The Sea
» » Bent - Ariels
Bent - Ariels mp3

Bent - Ariels mp3

16 Aug 2004
MP3 archive size:
2083 mb
FLAC archive size:
2873 mb


1On The Lake
Backing Vocals – Katty HeathGuitar [Onion] – Nail TollidayGuitar [Pedal Steel, E-bow] – BJ ColeHarp – Rhodri DaviesSynthesizer [Elka Synthex] – Simon Mills
2Exercise 4
Backing Vocals – Katty HeathFlute – Dorian ConwaySynthesizer [Analog Systems Modular, Arp Odyssey] – Simon MillsSynthesizer [Synthi Aks], Melodica – Nail Tolliday
3I Can't Believe It's Over
Backing Vocals – Sian Evans, Steve EdwardsCello – Dave DanielsLead Vocals – Sian EvansSynthesizer [Analog Systems Modular, Prophet 10] – Simon MillsSynthesizer [Minimoog] – Nail TollidayViola – Bruce WhiteViolin – Gavyn Wright, Julian Leaper
4The Waters Deep
Guitar – John ThompsonSynthesizer [Elka Synthex, Ppg Wave 2.3, Moog Modular] – Simon MillsSynthesizer [Emulator Ii, Analog Systems Modular, Oscar] – Nail TollidayVocals – Katty Heath
5Sunday Boy
Bass [Fender], Synthesizer [Emulator Ii] – Nail TollidaySynthesizer [Analog Systems Modular, Korg Vc10] – Simon MillsVocals – Sian Evans
6Sunday 29th
Backing Vocals – Katty Heath, Simon Mills, Steve EdwardsBacking Vocals, Vibraphone – Simon MillsDouble Bass [Upright], Bass [Bowed] – Arwel HughesFlute – Dorian ConwayGuitar [Pedal Steel] – BJ ColeLead Vocals – Katty Heath
7Silent Life
Bass [Fender], Guitar – John ThompsonBrass – Gareth BaileyCello – Dave DanielsDrums – Paul ColeGlockenspiel, Omnichord, Vibraphone, Organ [Hammond] – Simon MillsGuitar [Pedal Steel] – BJ ColeHarp – Rhodri DaviesPercussion – Gareth Bailey, Paul ColePiano, Bass – Nail TollidayViola – Bruce WhiteViolin – Gavyn Wright, Julian LeaperVocals – Steve Edwards
8You Are The Oscillator
Double Bass [Upright] – John ThompsonGuitar [Pedal Steel] – BJ ColeHarp – Rhodri DaviesPercussion – Paul ColeVocals – Katty Heath, Rachel Foster
9Now I Must Remember
Drums – Darrin MooneySynthesizer [Emulator Ii] – Simon MillsVocals – Katty Heath
10Sing Me
Backing Vocals – Katty Heath, Rachel FosterGuitar [E-bow] – BJ ColeLead Vocals – Rachel FosterOmnichord, Synthesizer [Elka Synthex] – Simon MillsSynthesizer [Minimoog] – Nail Tolliday
11Comin' Back
Brass – Gareth BaileyCello – Dave DanielsGuitar [Fender Vi] – Nail TollidaySynthesizer [Sixtrak, Aks], Glockenspiel, Omnichord – Simon MillsViola – Bruce WhiteViolin – Gavyn Wright, Julian LeaperVocals – Rachel Foster
12As You Fall
Cello – Dave DanielsGuitar [Pedal Steel] – BJ ColeHarp – Rhodri DaviesSynthesizer [Emulator Ii] – Simon MillsSynthesizer [Sh101] – Nail TollidayViola – Bruce WhiteViolin – Gavyn Wright, Julian LeaperVocals – Katty Heath


CategoryArtistTitle (Format)LabelCategoryCountryYear
OPENCD04Bent Ariels ‎(CD, Album)Open, Universal Records OPENCD04Philippines2004
OPENCD04Bent Ariels ‎(CD, Album, Unofficial)Open OPENCD04Russia2004
noneBent Ariels ‎(CDr, Copy Prot., Promo, Smplr)OpennoneUK2004
0000072MINBent Ariels ‎(CD, Album, Promo)Ministry Of Sound0000072MINGermany2004
SPG 1122Bent Ariels ‎(CD, Album)SPG MusicSPG 1122Canada2005


  • Arranged By [Brass]Gareth Bailey
  • Arranged By [Strings]Tom Bailey
  • Arranged By, Producer, Engineer, Programmed ByBent
  • Artwork By [Design & Art Direction] – Jay Jay & Cody
  • Engineer [Additional], Recorded ByRic Peet
  • GuitarNail Tolliday (tracks: 1, 2, 8 to 10)
  • Mastered ByDick Beetham
  • Mixed By [Assistant]Javier Weyler
  • Mixed By, Recorded By [Additional]Dave Bascombe
  • PercussionNail Tolliday (tracks: 1 to 3, 5, 6, 8)
  • PianoSimon Mills (tracks: 2, 4, 6, 9, 12)
  • Recorded By [Strings]Dave Bascombe, John Brough
  • Synthesizer [Elka Synthex]Nail Tolliday (tracks: 1 to 4, 10 to 12)
  • Synthesizer [Minimoog]Simon Mills (tracks: 8, 10 to 12)
  • Written-ByHeath (tracks: 2, 4, 8, 9, 12), Tolliday, Foster (tracks: 1, 6), Evans (tracks: 3, 10), Mills, Edwards (tracks: 5)


  • Barcode: 5 026535 808329
  • Matrix / Runout: || CD || OPEN04CD || 04243-8775 ||
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LV31
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI RZ17


  • Really wish this was on vinyl! Surprised that so many earlier releases are, but this is not.

  • This is one of the best pieces in their catalog. How is this still not on vinyl?

  • When listening to an album, did you ever get the feeling that you're no longer standing on the ground, but floating? Because that's the exact feeling I had when listening to "Ariels" for the first time. At times it's that emotional!
    It's very hard to pick highlights from the album, as every single track is a small masterpiece. But I particulary liked "Sing Me" (with the beautiful vocals of Rachel Foster of the "Weekend Players"), "You Are The Oscilator" (same vocalist) and the dreamy "On The Lake", an AMAZING piece of melodic ambient music.

    "Ariels" is a truly wonderful album. Out of all Bent's work, this album is the closest to my heart. Highly recommended, especially on lonely nostalgic evenings.

  • As the previous reviewer stated, Bent has always a penchant for reworking or revitalizing obscure tracks and, thus, delivering a polished retro feel to their productions.
    In ARIELS, they apparently took a turn in the road in order to venture a change in the scenery.
    All I can say is: the landscape they've captured and pictured in this new album is simply mesmerizing.
    Deeply emotional, ARIELS could be unfairly called "cheesy" after a first listen. However, if you take the time to really absorb it, you'll realize the album is melancholic without being depressive, and it's sad without being sappy.
    And AS YOU FALL is one of the most heartbreaking song I have ever, ever heard.

  • Bent has always excelled at making gorgeous downtempo with a humorous twist, but some of their best tracks ("So Long Without You," "Magic Love") have only been clever recrafting of other tracks. So without the reliance on samples, what's left? On ARIELS, they prove that they're more than the contents of their sampler. Right away, on "Comin' Back," they show off their penchant for songcraft with a Asian-tinged, pentatonic melody. They provide plenty of surprises, too: the peppy intro of "I Can't Believe It's Over" quickly turns into sadness. "As You Fall" revels in its own dreaminess, while "Silent Life" is pure 60s-pop catchiness. BJ Cole's pedal steel guitar adds a haunting country elegance to the instrumental "On the Lake." And even though the album is front-loaded with the stronger individual songs, the latter part of the album holds its own: "Sunday Boy" drifts along lazily, while "Exercise 4" puts the pep back in. "The Waters Deep" plunges headlong into a dreamy funk, bringing both parts of the album together cohesively. ARIELS represents a real step forward for the Bent gents.